Spark Power Corp CEOs Named Finalists in the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ 2017 Ontario Awards Program

Spark Power Corp CEOs Named Finalists in the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ 2017 Ontario Awards Program

(Oakville, ON – July 14, 2017) – We are proud to announce that Spark Power Corp. CEOs, Jason Sparaga and Andrew Clark have been named as finalists in the 2017 EY Entrepreneur of the Year™ awards program in the category, “Power & Utilities & Environment”.  This achievement recognizes entrepreneurs for “their vision, leadership, personal integrity, financial performance and entrepreneurial spirit”[i].  Jason and Andrew are among 40 other entrepreneurs across 10 categories in the Ontario regional finalists who were chosen from over 130 nominees.

“Innovation is a strong thread that weaves through all of our categories this year,” says Elena Doucette, Entrepreneur Of The Year Ontario program Co-Director. “Our finalists continue to wow us with their ability to transform traditional business models in unique and transformative ways. They’re recognizing it’s not just about creating the best company, but being best prepared for change.”

“We are honoured to be selected as finalists for this prestigious award,” says Jason Sparaga, Co-Founder and CEO of Spark Power Corp. “It’s about our team coming together to exemplify our company mission, which is to challenge and innovate traditional power sector business models, ultimately achieving our vision of providing a better energy future for coming generations; a future that is independent, flexible and clean, yet still reliable.  We want to put the “Power to Choose” in the hands of the energy user.”

In the coming months, Jason and Andrew will participate in several activities leading up to the Ontario gala scheduled for October 24, 2017, where the winners of each category will be selected from a panel of independent judges.  There will also be an overall Ontario winner, who will then compete with other EY regional winners from Quebec, Atlantic, Prairies and Pacific for the esteemed title of Canadian Entrepreneur of the Year.  The Canadian winner will have the opportunity to compete on an international level, with more than 50 other countries for the title of EY World Entrepreneur of the Year!

For more information, visit for more program details.

About Spark Power Corp
Spark Power Corp.’s mission is to challenge and innovate traditional power sector business models. The company is an integrated, end-to-end energy solutions provider, delivering technical innovation, asset management, project development, maintenance, service, and operational support to the renewable energy sector and industrial, commercial, institutional (ICI), and utility markets. Our unique, multifaceted approach enables us to provide a user-centric energy consumption experience to customers across Canada.  Our goal is to activate the next generation energy ecosystem by empowering a diverse client base to maximize their assets and investments through sustainable, renewable, and personalized energy solutions.  We maintain a strong respect for the past by providing support to traditional energy businesses, while astutely understanding the global need for sustainable energy solutions. Through aggressive growth and a series of acquisitions, Spark Power has grown to over 400 employees and 4,500 customers across Canada since our inception in 2010.

About EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™
EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ is the world’s most prestigious business awards program for entrepreneurs. The program makes a difference through the way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global awards program of its kind, Entrepreneur Of The Year celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 145 cities in more than 60 countries.

The 2017 Ontario independent  judging panel consists of Jill Denham, Corporate Director; Lisa Melchior, Founder and President, VERTU Capital; Steve Faraone, Managing Director, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan; Jeff Parr, Co-CEO and Managing Director, Clairvest Group Inc.; Gerald Slemko, CEO, Trudell Medical Ltd.; Rick Watkin, President and CEO, KUBRA; Andy Burgess, Managing Partner, Russell Square Partners; Code Cubitt, Founder and Managing Director, Mistral Venture Partners; and Lori O’Neill, Corporate Director.

This year’s program national sponsors are TEC Canada, La Presse, RDI, The TMX Group, The Globe and Mail Inc., Merrill Corporation, Kira Talent, Air Canada, SheEO, The Printing House Limited and Hillberg & Berk. Ontario regional sponsors are Captivate Network, Business News Network and Steam Whistle.

About EY
EY is a global leader in assurance, tax, transaction and advisory services. The insights and quality services we deliver help build trust and confidence in the capital markets and in economies the world over. We develop outstanding leaders who team to deliver on our promises to all of our stakeholders. In so doing, we play a critical role in building a better working world for our people, for our clients and for our communities.

EY is proudly celebrating 150 years in Canada. For more information, please visit Follow us on Twitter @EYCanada.

EY refers to the global organization and may refer to one or more of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients. For more information about our organization, please visit

[i], “EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2017 Ontario finalists”,