Spark Power Corp Announces Formation of Advisory Board

Spark Power Corp Announces Formation of Advisory Board

Andrew Clark and Jason Sparaga, Co-CEO’s of Spark Power (“Spark” or the “Company”) on the formation and launch of the Company’s Advisory Board. The depth of expertise within the Advisory Board is significant for a Company at Spark’s size and stage. Highly accomplished members include; senior executives from the power and utility industry, a former energy and securities regulator, and several of Canada’s top thought leaders in power and utility innovation.

Spark Power Corp is an emerging leader in the Canadian Power and Utility Sector. The Company is disrupting and changing the way electricity is distributed in a manner that best aligns the interests of Consumers, Municipally-owned Utilities, and all levels of Government. The core to Spark’s market approach is the application of innovative and proprietary, Community-Centric business models in partnership with local electricity distribution companies.

“In the past six years, Spark has seen significant organic growth and undertaken several acquisitions,” said Sparaga. “We quickly went from a standstill to market leadership and have built a reputation as innovators and disruptors.”

“With more than 120 employees and a dual focus on developing major renewables projects and providing critical power reliability services to global Fortune 100 asset owners and operators, we felt the time was right to assemble a team of Canadian leaders in the power and utility sector to help drive our next level of growth,” Clark added.

The Advisory Board will guide the Company and Senior Management on strategic initiatives, operational imperatives, and provide access to its valued network. The Advisory Board includes the following distinguished Members:


Mr. Wetston is a respected public servant and a distinguished lawyer, jurist, regulator and executive. He is one of Canada’s most prominent leaders in administrative law and regulation with deep expertise in securities, energy, competition and other regulated industries. He was the Chair & CEO of the Ontario Securities Commission from 2010 to 2015, was the Chair & CEO of the Ontario Energy Board from 2003 to 2010, and was a Vice-Chair of the OSC from 1999 to 2004. Mr. Wetston was granted the title “Honourable” after an exemplary six years as a Trial Judge at the Federal Court of Canada and Ex-officio Judge of its Appeal Division.


Mr. Taylor is the President of Taylor Made Solutions based in Toronto and is a CEO Group Leader for CEO Global Network also based in Toronto. Mr. Taylor is an experienced CEO with a strong track record of leadership in growing financial services and professional services firms. As a former Managing Partner at Ernst & Young, Mr. Taylor also has broad management consulting experience assisting various multinational and regional companies transform their organizations. In addition, Mr. Taylor is an experienced investor working with private equity firms, public and private companies to identify, acquire and combine companies to create superior shareholder value. He also services as Board Chair for the Green Energy Co-op of Ontario.


Mr. Strobele is chairman of the Hatch Group of Companies. Kurt has been with Hatch since 1973, when he joined the firm after receiving his Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, from McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario. Mr. Strobele has 43 years of experience in metallurgical plant design, process consulting and project and construction management, and as a leader of scale-ups for innovative processes and technologies around the world. Mr. Strobele has held several senior positions within Hatch, including, President and CEO, Vice-President, Engineering; Managing Director, Industrial Minerals; and Managing Director, Light Metals. In his different roles Mr. Strobele has worked on many international assignments and had overseas postings in Australia and South Africa.


Mr. Reynolds is a Canadian Power and Utility sector leader. He was most recently the Managing Director of Capgemini’s Canadian Utilities Practice. Prior to that, he spent 8 years as the Global lead for Capgemini’s Smart Energy Services and Digital Utilities Transformation initiative for the Energy, Utility and Chemicals sectors. Mr. Reynolds has spent most of his 20-year career in roles ranging from field and back office operations, strategy development and transformational consulting, to post merger integration and operational restructuring and performance audits. Specifically, he has led engagements with Hydro One, BC Hydro, Toronto Hydro, Sempra/SDG&E, Enbridge, EDF Energy (UK), SP AusNet (AUS) among others.


Mr. Peloquin is the CEO and Managing Partner at DPC (Daniel Péloquin Consultant). He has been involved in the manufacturing and exporting of products and services serving the electrical Transmission and Distribution (T&D) industry and End Users on international markets for close to 35 years. Daniel’s background includes extensive executive leadership in general management, engineering, sales, marketing and operations. He is currently a Board member of the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters (CME), and a member of its Finance, Audit & Risk Management Committee. He has recently been appointed to the Advisory Board of the Canadian National Committee of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).


Mr. Clark served as the Chairman of CPI Plastics Group Ltd. and also served as its Chief Executive Officer and President from 1989 to 2009. Mr. Clark served as the President and Chief Executive Officer of Clark Shoes from 1969 to 1988. Mr. Clark has been serving as an Independent Director of STT Enviro Corp. (formerly Semcan Inc.) since August 15, 2012. Mr. Clark has served on numerous public and private boards, including Just Energy. He served as a Member of Investment Advisory Board of Spara Merchant Capital Corp. and was Chairman of the Metropolitan Toronto Licensing Commission for 15 years. In 2004, Mr. Clark was named Manufacturing Entrepreneur of the Year by the National Post.